Whitewash, Mate, and the Field

Jesse's first area August2016

Wow, these past few days have been crazy! I got my companion! His name
is Elder Ipsen and he has been out for a year! He speaks super good
Castillano and knows what he is doing. I’ll post some pictures with
him. He also LOVES Mate, (this infusion that everyone drinks here, our
bishop loves it!) I tried it, and I absolutely hate it, Anyway

Elder Ipsen and I have the challenge of whitewashing  (opening) a new
area… Terrassa B!Terrasa copy

 it’s way hard! We have no-one to teach so webasically walk around all day contacting people in the streets. I’ve talked to 2 people in cars, stopped 3 bikes, talked to 4 people on
motos, yelled to 1 guy on his balcony and talked to countless people
on foot. I’ve talked to a lot of people, and I think I’m up to 16 LDMs
now. It’s pretty great. There is A LOT of opposition here though,
people have yelled at us and talked about how Americans are horrible
people. There are a ton of atheists and agnostics. The rest are
“Catholic” but don’t practice it ….? And a third of our area is
Gypsies, another third is Muslim, and the last third are crazy proud
Catalan people. It’s interesting…

I got to speak in church on Sunday, it was in Spanish but I think it
was good :), this week we were at the bishops house talking to him
about members, his house is really cool! He has an elevator inside
that he built. It’s pretty awesome!

For Preparation day we hiked up to this cathedral that overlooked
Barcalona and Badalona, it was super good! It’s really pretty and I
will post some pictures.

This week as we were contacting, I was thinking, “wow, nobody wants to
talk to us, and everybody is being so mean. We are just trying to help
you with your eternal salvation!” And stuff like that, but it really
opened my eyes to how blessed I am, to know what I know and to be
raised in such a great family. It’s really sad to see people walking
with their kids and they don’t believe that there is a God. Or 90 year
old cranky people not believing that there is a God, and that he loves
them. This gospel has brought me so much happiness in my life, and to
my family as well. And I know, that it is true. I know that families
can be together forever, and that the Book of Mormon is the word of
God. I know that we all have a Father in Heaven who loves us. I know
he cries with us, and laughs with us. I know that he wants us to
return to him. I know they this is where I am supposed to be, and i
know that it is making me a better person. What doesn’t kill me makes
me stronger! I love all of you!

image9image8image7image6thumbnail_image1thumbnail_image3image1 (1)image2image4image1 (2)image3 (1)image5 (1)

Leave a Reply

